Header Social Icons

Workshops, competitions etc

2017 Photo Competition: The theme this year is It’s all about the music. Thank you for all the fabulous photos entered for the competition. It was challenging to select just the  two winners from the selection but in the end we did and they are Stephen Beaver for capturing the exuberance and energy of Elvis Fontenot on stage in Marquee 1 and Clare Collins for her candid shot of one of our younger visitors entranced by the music. Well done to both.

Stephen Beaver 1        Clare Collins 2

Festival Workshops: With help from the talented musicians and dancers who take part in the festival, a wide range of workshops & informal ‘meets’ will take place over the festival weekend including – Voice workshop with The Spooky Men’s Chorale; East Anglian step dancing with Fiona Davies; Ukelele with Brooks Williams; Tin whistle with Georgia Lewis; Meet Flossie Malavialle; Beginners bodhran with John Blackwell; fiddle workshop with Rowan Piggot; blues workshop with Bophouseblue; Meet O’Hooley & Tidow; guitar with Hans Theessink; songwriting with Reg Meuross.

2017 Band Competition: The winner of our 2017 Band Competition is Norwich-based folk/Americana trio Alden Patterson & Dashwood https://aldenpattersonanddashwood.com/. Thanks to local newspaper – Ely Standard – for supporting our Band Competition this year.

2016 Festival Photo Competition

Our theme for 2016 was ‘A riot of colour and sound’. The winners (who will receive complimentary tickets to the 2017 festival) were Jon Dean for his superb study of a young festival goer concentrating hard on combining colour and sound at the same time; and to Glenys Dawkins for capturing both the floral headresses and noise-making ability of Earlsdon Morris Men with their bells and rattles. Both winning entries are below.

jon-dean-2       glenys-dawkins-1

2017 Band Competition

Details coming soon….








Booked so far for the 2018 festival (subject to contract)

Steve Knightley
Jamie Smith's Mabon
Johnny Dickinson
Anthony John Clarke
The Willows
John Kirkpatrick
Flossie Malavialle
Broom Bezzums
Chris Fox
Alden Patterson and Dashwood
Footer section
ely folk festival 2016